About Us | Contact Us | Instruments
Vastu Shastra
Vastu Shastra
Vedic Vastu
Five Elements
Vedic Vastu - Ayadi-Shadvarg - The six limbs of Vastu

Six Stages of Vastu

Ayadi-shadverg, according to Samarangana Sutradhara are the Basic Six Formulae. They are Aya, Vyaya, Amsha, Raksa, Yoni and Vara-tithi,according to which the perimeter of a structure should conform. There are six main component parts of building comprising: Adhisthana (base), Pada or Stambha (column), Prastara (entablature), Karna (ear or wings), Shikhar(roof) & Stoop (dome).

AYA means proportions and measurement of building as related to astronomical location and time. There are eight types of Ayas - (1) Dhwajaya (2) Dhumraya (3) Simhaya (4) Shwnaya (5) Vrishabhaya (6) Kharaya (7) Gajaya (8) Kakaya.

There are 27 Nakshatras (tara/stars), which are grouped into the following:

  Aya - Gain.
  Vyaya - Loss, Pishach, Rakshash and Yaksha.
  Amsha - Indira, Yama and Raja.
  Raksa - These are distributed in three groups of nine each: Sura-gan, Rakshash-gan and Manushya-gan.
  Yoni - Is the final deductions.
  Vara-tithi - Refers to Day and Date foe construction of building and performing invocation of Vastu Purush.

Yoni is the final deductions and 'var-tithi' refers to Day & Date for construction of building and performing invocation of Vastu Purush.Vastu Purush must be worshipped on three occasions: During the period of construction, During adi (foundation), Madhya (fixing of main door) & Antya (Grahapravesh).

Ayadishadvarg is a matrix of architecture and astrological calculations.  It provides a remainder of site dimensions related to Nakshatras which ensures the fitness of the structure and the well being of the builder and his family. The remainder is however, the Vastu itself. 

The testing of measurements by Shadvarg formed one of the most important condition followed in architecture and sculpture. Even today this practice is followed and many consider Aya as the life and breath of the structure.

For further information Click Here!